• 400 Victoria Avenue, Whanganui, Taranaki, New Zealand
  • PO Box 359, Whanganui, 4540, New Zealand
Key Contact
  • Glenda Brown
  • Hamilton
  • Whanganui

NZGBC Member

ecoBuild Developments Ltd

New Zealand leaders in PassivHaus design and construction

eHaus – a brand of ecoBuild Developments Ltd (eDL) was established in 2010 by Baden & Glenda Brown and Jon Iliffe with the dream of creating a New Zealand owned and operated specialist design and construction company using PassivHaus build & design principles.

Often referred to as the ‘world’s leading standard in energy efficient design” the German engineering intelligence behind PassivHaus encompasses unprecedented Health, Comfort, Energy efficiency benefits and high quality buildings. Baden a New Zealand Master Builder of 20+ years and Jon a HND Mech Prod Engineer from Rolls Royce motor cars in the UK, realised the opportunity this revolutionary way of building PassivHaus bought to the New Zealand building industry and the incredible benefits these spaces offered.

That same year they both studied and qualified in the use of the German PassivHaus software through the Auckland Unitec facility. The software, at the very heart of the build, models the performance of how the building will perform before a single stake is put in the ground. They then invested 100’s of hours translating PassivHaus to the New Zealand conditions, applying the building science to the 18 climate zones for both the North and South Islands.

Together with Glenda, a member of the NZ Institute of Directors and a registered business mentor who has 30+ years working in Chartered Accountants has seen the business grow a nationwide team of qualified PassivHaus designers and licensees.

eHaus is now recognised as award winning, and a leading player in the New Zealand PassivHaus market.

Check here: for our list of eHaus builders across the country.

Locations Include:

  • Auckland Rodney
  • Auckland West
  • Waikato
  • Tauranga/Bay of Plenty
  • Hawkes Bay
  • Taranaki
  • Whanganui
  • Manawatu
  • Kapiti
  • Wellington
  • North Canterbury
  • Otago
  • Lakes District