Changes to our board: Haere ra Steve Aschebrock, haere mai new board members

28 November 2022

At our 2022 AGM we had the opportunity to farewell and thank Steve Aschebrock. Steve has stepping down after a brilliant nine years on the NZGBC board, including four as chair.


In that time there has been a huge shift in the way New Zealand designs and builds our homes and buildings. We’ve expanded as an organisation in terms of membership and staff, the breadth and impact of our certifications and offerings to the market have increased dramatically, and importantly, there has been a major shift in the way we consider the role of buildings in our efforts to combat climate change.

“Steve has given a tremendous amount of time and energy to ensure our organisation is staying true to our vision, and in the best possible position to deliver,” Andrew Eagles says, NZGBC chief executive.

“Throughout his tenure Steve has walked the talk when it comes to sustainability, championing great practice through his company Inzide. A member of the NZGBC since 2006, Inzide has been a huge supporter, and we’re grateful Steve’s been able to take time out to support NZGBC business.”

“We cannot make a difference without good governance. We're tremendously grateful for Steve's passionate advocacy, support and leadership.”

After completing the maximum number of years on the board, as per our constitution, Steve stepped down at the November board meeting, with Brendon Dwyer subsequently appointed as acting-chair ahead.

Two new board members

Also retiring from the board was Property industry representative Daniel Henderson. At the AGM it was announced Paula Bennett from Bayleys Real Estate has been voted into the property board position, and Murray Robertson from Hawkins has been voted in to represent Construction & Supply industries.

We're fortunate to have widely respected senior industry leaders playing a key role in our governance. Thanks to all our members who nominated, voted, and got involved.

Paula and Murray join the board alongside Patrick Clifford, Brendon Dwyer, Jane Holland, Simon Neale MBA, Robyn Phipps, and Jeff Samasoni