Homestar is a comprehensive, independent national rating tool, run by the not-for-profit Green Building Council, that measures the health, warmth and efficiency of New Zealand houses. A home is rated on a scale from 6 to 10.

Homeowners click here               Industry click here

A 6 Homestar rating or higher means the home will be easier and more cost effective to keep warm, healthy and more environmentally friendly than a typical new house built to building code. A 10 Homestar rating means you've built a world leading home.

To rate a home’s performance and environmental impact, Homestar awards points across several categories: density & resource efficiency; energy, health & comfort; water; waste; materials; site; home management; and an optional innovation category.

There are two stages to a Homestar rating:

  • Design – this rating assesses the full and final plans.
  • Built – this rating occurs after a home is constructed. It certifies that the features in the Design rating have been fully implemented.
  • Here's a longer introduction to Homestar for those wanting a bit more information: 

    Want to find out more?

    Watch this introduction to Homestar online course, which has been specifically designed for those wanting to get a basic understanding of Homestar. These are also the first two modules in the complete Homestar Practitioner course.

    Learn more here